Keynote Speakers

Prof. Panagiotis Metaxas, Wellesley College, USA

“Why Prediction is Hard: Progress and Obstacles in Computational Social Science”

Panagiotis Metaxas is a Professor of Computer Science, founder and director of the Media Arts and Sciences Program at Wellesley College, and an Affiliate of the Center for Research on Computation and Society (CRCS) at Harvard University. His research interests span the fields of computational social science, parallel computing, multimedia programming, image dithering and computing education. His current projects involve studying the power of crowdsourcing and social networks, especially related to the prediction of political events, and in developing Web tools that can help users estimate the trustworthiness of the information she receives. Prof. Metaxas majored in Mathematics at the University of Athens and holds a PhD in Computer Science from Dartmouth College and is a member of CRA’s Board of Directors, and of the Advisory Board of ACM’s Crossroads magazine.

Friday 3 October 2014, 9:30 - 10:30, Amphitheater


Prof Joseph Sifakis, (ACM Turing Award 2007), EPFL, President of NCRT

"The Internet of Things - A Revolution not to Miss"

Joseph Sifakis is a computer scientist, laureate of the 2007 Turing Award, along with Edmund M. Clarke and E. Allen Emerson, for his work on model checking. He studied Electrical Engineering at the National Technical University of Athens and Computer Science at the University of Grenoble. He is the founder of the Verimag laboratory, which he directed for 15 years. He is a Full Professor at EPFL, Lausanne. His current research interests cover fundamental and applied aspects of embedded systems design. 

The main focus of his work is on the formalization of system design as a process leading from given requirements to trustworthy, optimized and correct-by-construction implementations. Joseph Sifakis is a member of the French Academy of Sciences, a member of the French National Academy of Engineering and a member of Academia Europea. He is a Grand Officer of the French National Order of Merit, a Commander of the French Legion of Honor and a Commander of the Greek Order of the Phoenix. He has received the Leonardo da Vinci Medal in 2012. He is the President of the Greek National Council for Research and Technology.

Saturday 4 October 2014, 9:30 -10:30, Amphitheater